Spectrum Borland Sabre

Race wins for Spectrum across three states

A maiden round win for one young driver and personal best performances for a number of others have marked a successful Armor All Gold Coast 600 event for Spectrum Racing Cars.


The 2.96km concrete canyon on the streets of Surfers Paradise served up some exciting and at times bruising racing for the penultimate round of the Australian Formula Ford Championship, with 17-year old Queenslander Liam Sager surviving the battle to record his first ever national level race win.




Sager, driving for XCEED/ Synergy Motorsport, qualified a strong third fastest for Saturday’s opening 9-lap race and took advantage of an incident involving Garry Jacobson and Nick Foster to take the race lead with four laps to go, before withstanding pressure from newly-crowned AFFC champion Cameron Waters to take a popular and well-deserved win.


Behind Sager, Main Beach-based rookie Shae Davies kicked off his home race weekend in fine style, recording a personal best finish of fifth with Mathew Hart, rookie standout Sam Power and Daniel Erickson also finishing inside the top ten.


Saturday afternoon’s second race saw Sager locked in an enthralling dice with CAMS Rising Star driver Jack LeBrocq, the pair swapping the race lead four times before LeBrocq eventually pipped Sager at the finish by less than four-tenths of second.


Davies drove another impressive race by running third until the penultimate lap when a glance of the wall at Falken Corner threw out a right front wheel weight and allowed Tom Williamson to take the final podium spot. Nonetheless, Davies went on to record yet another personal best of fourth place.


Hart, Power and Erickson all racked up an extra top ten finish each with rookie Power improving to an excellent seventh and lapping less than half a second outside the fastest race lap.


The prospect of a round win for Sager was cruelly taken away during Sunday morning’s 11-lap final with clutch problems, the Synergy Motorsport driver having to settle for third place for the round.


Davies continued to fly the Spectrum flag with a solid sixth place finish and a personal best round result of fifth, elevating the Davbridge Constructions/ Borland Racing Developments driver to the lead of the Rookie of the Year standings, while Power capped off his excellent national debut with another seventh place.


Spectrum Racing Cars would also like to congratulate the efforts of David Whitmore who collected a pole position and three race wins to dominate Round 6 of the NSW Formula Ford Championship at Eastern Creek.


While at Phillip Island, Spectrum driver Scott Andrews took a convincing Formula Ford 1600 round win with fellow Spectrum steerers Dylan Richter, Lachlan Marshall and Adrian Lazzaro all producing great results.


Good work boys!

You are here: Home » BORLAND NEWS » 2011 News » 2011 Race wins for Spectrum across three states