Spectrum Borland Sabre



New South Wales’ Paul ‘Laska’ Laskazeski has capped off a stellar season of racing, setting pole position and winning the final round of the Australian Formula Ford Championship at Oran Park Raceway last weekend. Winning the round was the perfect end to a weekend that saw Laska crowned the Australian Champion. Proving his speed and consistency, Laska has been on the podium at each of the eight rounds, scoring three round wins, three second places and two thirds.

Laska secured the title aboard the Factory Enterprises backed Spectrum 011b, prepared by Synergy Motorsport. Impressively, Justin Cotter’s team has taken the title in its debut season. The result is a just reward for the tireless effort put in by Justin, Laska and the entire team starting back in 2007 when plans for Synergy Motorsport started to emerge. ‘This is an amazing feeling,’ Paul said. ‘We have worked so hard for this title and stuck to our plan all season long. We set the season up in the first few rounds and then didn’t have to push so hard in the middle. We were able to sit back and pick up second and third places because of the lead we had. But this weekend once the title was ours, we could relax, have some fun and show how much pace we have!’ he added.

Paul didn’t have it all his own way, with CAMS Rising Star Daniel Erickson winning the final race of the season and setting a new lap record in the process. This saw him confirmed as the Avon Tyres Rookie of the Year and netted him second place for the round. Erickson had been runner up to Laska in the first race of the weekend, but turned the tables in the final. After taking the lead early on, Daniel built a buffer and drove faultlessly to hold on and take the win in his BRD Spectrum 011b. ‘All credit to Daniel for his race today,’ said Laskazeski. ‘He just beat me for the lap record and drove a great race. We came here to wrap up the title this weekend and did just that, so I’m more than happy with second in the race!’ he added.

Borland Racing Developments congratulates Paul Laskazeski and Synergy Motorsport on their Championship win and Daniel Erickson on his Rookie of the Year title.

You are here: Home » BORLAND NEWS » 2008 News » 08.12.2008 - AUSTRALIAN FORMULA FORD TITLE GOES NORTH, TO A LASKA!